Switching from DirectX to AGL

I have been programming for a couple of years in C++ and 1 year with DirectX (DirectDraw for that matter), and recently switched to the Mac OS platform.

Now I want to do 2D programming with OpenGL, but there are several problems. One, I know C++, but I hardly know anything about Objective C (that is what they use in OpenGL tutorials). And another thing is I can’t figure out how to incorporate the OpenGL API into Cocoa. Does anybody know a good book (or website) for accomplishing these things? :confused:

You can still use C++ to build your OpenGL App under OSX. Try this website http://onesadcookie.com/Tutorials, it will show you how to make an OpenGL App under Xcode.
Also http://nehe.gamedev.net/ has a lot of tutorials on OpenGL, and there you can find a Cocoa basecode if you want to try Objective C.

Thanks… yeah I really like OneSadCookie. It’s really helpful. But should I go directly into 3D or keep on programming in 2D? I would love to learn 3D, and I know Algebra, but I don’t know a thing about matrices and vectors. And I don’t know calculus. What do you recommend?

You will probably want a ‘linear algebra’ course offered by a college.

I learned OpenGL by trying some tutorials that I found on the web, and by reading a lot of papers and books about different 3D topics. When beginning with 3D, it will be a bit easier if you had some mathematics background and even better if you had some computer graphics course at university, but also if you hadn’t those courses you could begin with OpenGL. For me the best tutorials on OpenGL are those found at http://nehe.gamedev.net/, but also if they are well documented, I would hardly recommend you to buy one of the OpenGL Bible (for example “The OpenGL Programming Guide”, you can pretend be an OpenGL programmer if you don’t have such a book :wink: ). Another quick way to learn 3D and OpenGL is to have an OpenGL guru at hand :wink: .