New to OpenGl

Hi. I’m new both to this board and (relatively) programming in C++.
I’m curious whether anyone can recommend a resource, book, etc., to get me started on OpenGL? How thorough a knowledge-base would you say I’d need, Beginning, Intermediate, or Advanced?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Ashley riskbreaker@mac.com

[This message has been edited by riskbreakerVS (edited 06-27-2001).]

I’m new to openGL too… what I suggest is you check out the tutorials on http://nehe.gamedev.net, download the source code (most comes in Project Builder format for OS X) and check out the books he recommends…

i’m pretty sure that to do opengl programming with osx you’ve got to use objective-c.
definitely not c++.

you might pick up the learning cocoa book from oreilly. http://www.oreilly.com/catalog/learncocoa/

and for opengl, you’ll want the redbook (opengl 1.2 programming guide, 3rd ed, by woo, neider, et al)

opengl is pretty simple. the key is realizing that “opengl” in your program represents a type of drawing machine with a definite state (like some class object with a bunch of data members with assigned values). once you set up it’s state (as in, "whenever you draw lines, make 'em this thick, and make points this thick, and when you draw triangles, make 'em this color and shade 'em like so-and-so, etc…) you just hand it values of points in 3d space and tell “it” what you mean by those points (as in, with the next 3 points (so that’s nine numbers all together) i mean a triangle).

i think you’d want to use project builder to write and compile your ogl programs.

OK. First, thanks to both who have replied so far (Nephilite and jmg). I found the website very instructive.