Little bug on 3DS Loader

I need some help on a problem with my 3DS Loader. I had the GLUT 3DS Loader working on my Intel workstation, and I just ported it to my PowerBook. I just had to wrote a little endian to big endian conversion function. I can now render a 3DS model on my PowerBook, but I have a little bug. Depending on the orientation of the model, I can see some black triangle on the border of the mesh, but I can’t figure out the reason of it.
I also noticed some performance difference between my PowerBook and my Intel P4 1.3 GHz. I fixed the frame rate of the application to 20 fps, but I press a button to rotate the model, it is smoother on my P4 with a GeForce 2 than on my PowerBook with GeForce FX. So I find that a bit suspicious. Maybe a didn’t activate full support of the GPU on my PowerBook. I’m new to Mac OS X, so I use standard Unix tools to compile.
So if someone had an idea what the problem is, please tell me, because I’m a bit disappointed of my PowerBook now :frowning:

Did you tried with http://lib3ds.sourceforge.net/ ?

For me it sounds like the way you are drawing object is not the most optimal way for the architecture.

Are you using display list ? converts your model in triangles strip ? etc … ?

At the moment I draw the model using simple triangles, so I use glBegin( GL_TRIANGLES ) and loop over the faces. I’m looking to use triangle strips but befor I had to figure out if there is a way to store the vertices in triangles strips in 3DS or if I have to compute them by myself.
But thanks for the reply, I will try to use display list, maybe it will fix the problem.

What’s a GLUT 3DS Loader? Where can I download it?

Thank’s

Immediate mode is slow on OS X compared to Windows. Displays lists are much faster.