Rookie under Linux! ;)

Hello dudes!
i have just installed my mandrake 8.0 distribution and i am really new to the Linux world and my plans are to get rid of windows as soon as possible concerning my project -> http://www.orkysquad.org thus what i need is now a cool development environment & hardware accelerated OpenGL working under Linux and of course a couple of advices!
So as i said i’ve just installed the M8.0 & unfortunately it seems that apps using accelerated GL like GLTron & TuxRacer are not working (loading & disappearing without a word! i’ve tried to install latest Nvidia rpms for xfree 4.0 but it doesn’t seem to work either!
Concerning the IDE now, there are Vi & Emacs available but i really need a complete IDE which can manage my project and generate makefiles just like VC & old Borland4.x,
i’ve heard that sourceForge was a cool IDE… what do ya think?
Another question is how to compile my Linux kernel under X to perfectly match my hardware (perhaps it is bcoz of this my ultrasound & GL are not working…)
how can i test mesa examples (and are they accelerated or only software?)

thanks!

Originally posted by Ozzy:
Hello dudes!
So as i said i’ve just installed the M8.0 & unfortunately it seems that apps using accelerated GL like GLTron & TuxRacer are not working (loading & disappearing without a word! i’ve tried to install latest Nvidia rpms for xfree 4.0 but it doesn’t seem to work either!

If you’re using KDE as your main window manager, then you’ll most probably have the KDE session manager logging you in. This is bugged in MD8 and causes GL to fail.

You’ll need to change to the Gnome session manager. Can’t remember how to do this offhand, but it requires you to get your hands dirty.

Concerning the IDE now, there are Vi & Emacs available but i really need a complete IDE which can manage my project and generate makefiles just like VC & old Borland4.x,