Linux System Recommendations

Howdy folks!

I’m a total newbie in the Linux world and I was wondering if you guys would be kind enough to suggest a really good Linux system, one that’s stable and and easy to use. I want to develop games using OpenGL, so with that in mind, any guidelines at all would be appreciated. I hear Suse is good (how do you pronounce that, Sooz?). Any comments on good hardware would be nice too.

Also, are there any pitfalls that I should be aware of? I understand that drivers and getting all the latest features can be a problem at times, so if anyone has a gotcha or 2 to share that’d be great.

I’m sure this has come up before in one form or another, so I hope you don’t mind revisiting this subject with renewed enthusiasm :slight_smile:

Again, I’m as green as they come, so anything at all would be news to me.

Help a 49er?

Thank you very much!

1. don’t want to bother anyone, but if you want ogl under linux, the most important choice maybe the graphics card. buy an nvidia.

2. i have suse 10.0 (try to say something like zoo-ze ;-)). no problem with my fx5500, nforce2 chipset with onboard sound, additional pci lan card, dvd-rw. i have to admit i’ve never tried ubuntu, but suse has been in business for the past 12 years, i think. that’s a plus, i guess. at work i’m using redhat 9.0. very stable, too.

3. go, 49ers! (i guess?)

Thanks RigidBody!

I have had a good experience with Nvidia under Windows so it’s a comfort (and not surprising) to learn it’s comparable under Linux.

Regarding SUSE (thanks for the pronunciation key :slight_smile: ), I looked at their website and I must say I’m a bit confused over the pricing scheme. Do you have to license this? I saw the SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop for $50 a year, and some went as high as several thousand? That can’t be right. I may have missed it or I just don’t understand how the Linux OS is handled commercially. Needless to say I was a little mystified by Novell’s website.