compiling problem

HI, i’m new to openGL.
I have a slackware 8.0 and installed the GLUT library, but i don’t have Mesa (where can i find it? is it necessary to use GLUT or not?).

I tryed to compile a program i found on the glut.column1.ps file i downloaded on opengl.org web page, and i get the followng errors:

bash-2.05$ make
gcc -c -o prova.o prova.c
gcc -o es prova.o -L/usr/X11R6/lib -L/home/galy/GLUT/glut-3.7/lib/glut -lX11 -lm -lGL -lGLU -lglut
/home/galy/GLUT/glut-3.7/lib/glut/libglut.so: undefined reference to XGetExtensionVersion' /home/galy/GLUT/glut-3.7/lib/glut/libglut.so: undefined reference to XFreeDeviceList’
/home/galy/GLUT/glut-3.7/lib/glut/libglut.so: undefined reference to XQueryDeviceState' /home/galy/GLUT/glut-3.7/lib/glut/libglut.so: undefined reference to XListInputDevices’
/home/galy/GLUT/glut-3.7/lib/glut/libglut.so: undefined reference to XFreeDeviceState' /home/galy/GLUT/glut-3.7/lib/glut/libglut.so: undefined reference to XOpenDevice’
/home/galy/GLUT/glut-3.7/lib/glut/libglut.so: undefined reference to XmuLookupStandardColormap' /home/galy/GLUT/glut-3.7/lib/glut/libglut.so: undefined reference to XSelectExtensionEvent’

Bye
p.s. do i need to include X11?

Mesas homepage is at http://mesa3d.org/ but it is also included in all distributions. You already have an OpenGL library installed so you do not need Mesa. If you have a NVidia card should you use drivers from their page if not is your installed Mesa library OK.
You are missing -lXmu at your command line needed by the XmuLookupStandardColormap function. The others missing functions is in -lX11. Try to move -lglut before -lX11. Your order works for me but I can not come up with any other suggestion.
You do not have to include X11 in your GLUT programs since GLUT takes care of that.

Hi, I installed Mesa and now the compilation works fine.
I only don’t understand why…

Bye