Client server communication

I have to develop a CAD related software that has the application(opengl) on the server and the layouts being displayed on 2 or 3 other machines(clients). can u please tell me how do i do it or any links that can help me?
I am using Qt for GUI and KDE as IDE.

Originally posted by Vijayalakshmi:
I have to develop a CAD related software that has the application(opengl) on the server and the layouts being displayed on 2 or 3 other machines(clients). can u please tell me how do i do it or any links that can help me?
I am using Qt for GUI and KDE as IDE.

hello,
looks like the question is not clear or very primitive.Since i am fairly new to linux and opengl, i am kind of not clear.Let me put it this way.
can i use qt sockets for this communication? If i create the display lists on the server, can i call these lists from the server and render it. is it an efficient way of doing? or do u suggest using GLX. Anyone who can give me suggestions, i will be very thankful.
Thank you,
Vijayalakshmi

i’d like to do so. But i don’t understand well all what you say.

How is your hardware architecture ? which have to display or not ?? what do you call layouts ??
i don’t see difference btw your server and your client…

sorry,

fratt

Not sure if I understood what you mean. In Unix (I think every System running a X-Server) it is possible to run an application on an other computer than displaying it. So you can run nearly everything on the server and display the layouts (?) on different computers (through network). Not sure if this is what you mean. AFAIK it is only possible to use OpenGL hardware acceleration if you display the application on the same computer you ran it. Else I think you will only get Software rendering. I think there is a HowTo out there on this topic.
Hope this helped

Olorin

[This message has been edited by olorin (edited 06-05-2003).]

Thanks for the reply.