Linux OpenGL installation

Hello

I am new to graphics programming. I installed madrake 9.0 on my laptop (dual boot with win2k) and downloaded and installed most of the following rpms (I got src for some but didnt install):

glut-3.7-9.src.rpm libMesaGLU1-devel-4.0.3-6mdk.i586.rpm
gtk-1.2.10-ximian.9.i386.rpm libMesaglut3-4.0.3-6mdk.i586.rpm
gtk.rpm libMesaglut3-devel-4.0.3-6mdk.i586.rpm
imake-4.2.1-4.i686.rpm Mesa-4.0.3-6mdk.i586.rpm
libMesaGL1-4.0.3-6mdk.i586.rpm Mesa-4.0.3-6mdk.src.rpm

After all that I have:

ls /usr/X11R6/include/GL/
glu.h glu_mangle.h glut.h

I run slocate (fully updated db) and dont have gl.h anywhere on the system. (or anything containg opengl).

Is there any documentation or advice people could offer for getting started on graphics programming?

thanx in advance

…and downloaded and installed most of the following rpms…

Weird. All this stuff came right on my Mandrake (8.2) cd’s. It was pretty much installed by default when I told the installer that I wanted games and also dev stuff.

Did you buy/download Mandrake 9 iso’s?

The only thing my Mandrake 8.2 didn’t come with (IIRC) was a header file (maybe glu.h, can’t remember). I got that by downloading the correct version of Mesa and copying the header from there.

Make sure that you also install the devel rpm’s

I don’t have mandrake handy, but the file names should have Mesa and devel in them.

That’s most likely all that is missing.

One other thing–you may not want the Mesa libs if you have an NVidia graphics card, as they supply a set of drivers and their own version of OpenGL. The ATI 8xxx, 9xxx series also has a driver from ATI, I don’t have one so I’m not sure about the details of installing their drivers…

Jamie

Thanx for the replies…

I have a RAGE Mobility card (or somesuch, laptop).

I did some research and it seems to me that I should focus on getting all the mesa stuff installed. Is this correct?

Can anyone point me to a good test program to run?

m