Complete Newbie -- please help

I have basic coding skills, learned to code in Ada and Pascal … just starting to get into C / C++ … and want to do some OpenGL … simple stuff to start learning … anyway … i am new to all this and am at a complete loss to comprehend the differences between OpenGL programming in C and C++ … (side note: in coding for RH Linux 7.1)

now as far as i understand it, there are different windowing commands for windows and Xwindows … but im even more confused with the differences between OpenGL in C and C++ … i want to use C in Xwindows … I have OpenGL superbible book … but i dont know if this is specific to windows and C++ … i guess my major questions are … how do i tell the difference … and what do i need to learn OpenGL in C for Linux … some please help … im soo lost … but its prob just me … if anyone can answer my questions or point me in the right direction … it would be much appreciated

thank you very much for your help and time,

-Eryk Furman

Originally posted by ekfcipher:
[b]I have basic coding skills, learned to code in Ada and Pascal … just starting to get into C / C++ … and want to do some OpenGL … simple stuff to start learning … anyway … i am new to all this and am at a complete loss to comprehend the differences between OpenGL programming in C and C++ … (side note: in coding for RH Linux 7.1)

now as far as i understand it, there are different windowing commands for windows and Xwindows … but im even more confused with the differences between OpenGL in C and C++ … i want to use C in Xwindows … I have OpenGL superbible book … but i dont know if this is specific to windows and C++ … i guess my major questions are … how do i tell the difference … and what do i need to learn OpenGL in C for Linux … some please help … im soo lost … but its prob just me … if anyone can answer my questions or point me in the right direction … it would be much appreciated

thank you very much for your help and time,

-Eryk Furman[/b]