Help with OpenGL in RedHat 9

Hello,

I’m a newbie to Linux and I recently started using it because I want to make OpenGL games. I tried installing Mesa myself, but I keep getting fifty or so “undefined reference to <function>” errors when I make my makefile.

Could someone please email me at abaglio@umd.edu and tell me how to properly install Mesa? I am running RedHat 9.1 on a P4.

Thanks in advance! (You all rock!)

I’ll post here rather than e-mail you, so others having the same problem can know what’s going on:

More than likely, you have installed Mesa correctly. The undefined reference errors are caused by the fact that you did not link to the libraries. Make sure that you are linking to the libraries in your Makefile by including the -l option, like so:

-lGL -lGLU -lglut

If the libraries are not in /usr/lib (and glut probably is in /usr/local/lib) you will need to make a symbolic link to them:

ln -s /usr/local/lib/glut.so.3.7 /usr/lib/glut.so.3

or some such (and as root, of course). Enjoy!

-SPD

I am also having trouble installing Mesa 6.0 on my system (RH 9). I get the following types of errors which appear related to glx (see below). Prior to these errors the compilation seems to proceed ok. Any thoughts?

drivers/x11/glxapi.c: At top level:
drivers/x11/glxapi.c:1036: parse error before ‘*’ token
drivers/x11/glxapi.c:1037: glXBindTexImageARB' declared as function returning a function drivers/x11/glxapi.c: In functionglXBindTexImageARB’:
drivers/x11/glxapi.c:1039: dpy' undeclared (first use in this function) drivers/x11/glxapi.c:1041:False’ undeclared (first use in this function)
drivers/x11/glxapi.c:1042: dereferencing pointer to incomplete type
drivers/x11/glxapi.c:1042: pbuffer' undeclared (first use in this function) drivers/x11/glxapi.c:1042:buffer’ undeclared (first use in this function)
d

SPD,