Another compiling problem

I am just getting started, so apologies for what is probably a basic question. I am using Redhat Linux 7.2 with a Voodoo3 graphics card. I am trying to compile the very first example from the book “OpenGL for the X Window System”. (I am unfamiliar with how X windows works and fairly new to Linux). The line I type to compile the program is:

cc -o glxsimple glxsimple.c -lGL -lXext -lX11

The problem I have is that the linker (ld) fails to find the “Xext” library and also fails to find the “X11” library. Funnily enough, there is no problem with the actual OpenGL stuff eg it finds the “GL” library and so forth. This makes me think perhaps the X libraries are called something different under Redhat linux 7.2. Would that be the case, and if so, can you tell me what to modify my the references to “X11” and “Xext” to? Many thanks.

I think that the problem is that you didn’t specify the wright path for your librairies.
To do it :

1-
>locate libX11
>locate libXext

the two commands gives you a path

2-a.
first possibility, you had the two path (they may be the same) to your file

/etc/ld.so.conf

and execute the commande

>ldconfig

which update you ld.cache.It specifies the place where your compiler must look for libraries.

2-b.
Second possibility specify these path at the compiling time, for example :

-L/usr/X11R6/lib -lglut -lGLU -lGL -lX11 -lXmu -lXext -lXt -lXi

I hope it will help.

[This message has been edited by MPech (edited 03-31-2002).]

Thanks for your suggestions, but they did not seem to do the trick. When I typed “locate”, I discovered that I had all the libraries I need, however when I type out the long versions, for example, in trying to compile the glutsphere program, I end up with another strange error. As follows:

[root@localhost glutsphere]# cc -o glutsphere glutsphere.c -lglut -lGLU -lGL -L/usr/X11R6/include/X11/Xmu -L/usr/X11R6/include/X11/extensions/ -L/usr/X11R6/include/X11