[newbie] How to create a window in X ? [sorry!]

Hi,

I’m new to Open GL, but not to programming in general (I program text solutions as a hobby in C/C++, Java etc) - but when it comes to GUI’s I go all …

Question is, what is the bare minimum I need to create a window in X?

I’ve got my nVidia drivers working great in Q3A and UT - but I don’t know about the header files…

How would I compile and link with the OpenGL libraries under gcc?

gcc me.c -o me <now what??>

Many Thanks!!

John

Originally posted by JCC:
[b]Hi,

I’m new to Open GL, but not to programming in general (I program text solutions as a hobby in C/C++, Java etc) - but when it comes to GUI’s I go all …

Question is, what is the bare minimum I need to create a window in X?

I’ve got my nVidia drivers working great in Q3A and UT - but I don’t know about the header files…

How would I compile and link with the OpenGL libraries under gcc?

gcc me.c -o me <now what??>

Many Thanks!!

John[/b]

1 ) bare minimum I need to create a window in X ?
Depends if you mean OpenGL or other type of windows. There are some tutorials in net. There are more than one way to do that easyly.

2 ) With NVIDIA drivers 1.xxx you get gl.h . You might also need mesa-devel package to get glut.h.

use locate command and check if you have them in your system.

1. gcc -o me me.c -lGL -LGLU -lglut -> something like that , you might also need -lm or others .

go nehe.gamedev.net there are some easy tutorials. They are made for windows, but most of them are changed to linux also. get couple of them and try to make them.

also look at the makefiles , there you can see the compiler lines.

Thanks for the gcc libraries that I need to include

Do you know of any good tutorials that can teach OpenGL without any MS Windows specific stuff?

I looked at the nehe.gamedev.net and the whole first chapter mixes MS Windows calls with OpenGL calls, and I can’t tell which are which - any Linux/Unix OpenGL tutorials you know of?

Thanks!!

John