Long time opengl developer trying to build first ever glx skeleton

salutations,

i was hoping i might be able to garner some support, and better yet it appears there is no need to register in this forum.

i’m a long time opengl developer, and not entirely new to linux… but for a long time i shied away from linux as a development platform due to its seemingly weak development environment. but now i’m looking to serious port my work, which includes a custom ide, to debian linux tooth and nail whatever it takes.

right now, i’m just trying to build an empty glx framework including:

glx.h gl.x xf86vmode.h and keysym.h

i get a sleiu of errors that look like:

GetGammaRamp’:
: undefined reference to ‘_XFlush’
usr/X11R6/lib/libXxf86vm.a(XF86VMode.o)(.text+0x27e3): in function 'XF86VidMode

the form is always the same, but obviously the functions and files change.

basically every error is of this form best i can see off hand.

can someone please explain this too me.

i’ve been working with win32 just out of practicality… as much of my code base is from scratch (c++), and the rare win32 code is well wrapped.

if i can just modify the wrapper to support xf86 then everything else should follow with relative ease.

i would greatly apreciate anyone willing to help me over this hump.

sincerely,

michael

i should probably add that my system is running on an nvidia card with modern nvidia drivers, and all of the debian ‘sarge’ 2.6 packages related to general x development have been installed… i’m assuming the drivers libraries and headers were installed by the nvidia driver script… they all seem to be there. -michael

Did you link against the X11 library as well?
If this doesn’t help try to change the order of the libraries when you specify them for the linker.