What kind of card I should buy, ATI or NVIDIA?

I am new in openGL programming. I wonder which card is better for openGL programming under RedHat 7.3. (“Better” means it is easier to install drivers … :slight_smile: )

Please tell me your opinion and experience with these two cards. I do appreciat your helps!

I don’t think you should base your opinion on how easy it is to install some drivers.

You’ll only be doing that once
(or not that often at least)

Better base it on how fast/stable/youknowwhatmore the drivers are.

Anyway, I vote for NVIDIA since I haven’t used an ATi card anymore since the erm… man, I can’t even remember that anymore.

Installation isn’t hard, just be sure to read the README (not only the first or last 3 lines).

And the latest NVIDIA drivers didn’t make my X crash even once, so I guess they’re pretty much rock solid
(altough there are some performance problems with the 2D part, but that’s going to be solved with the next release (you can always use the 3x.xx drivers instead, which are also pretty good))

Oh, and that’s only for the 2D part with the current drivers!

The implemenation of OpenGL 1.4 + NV Extensions is totally C O O L and very fast.

Next month the new nvidia card is comming out the nvidia fx. Im waiting for that and then getting that. nvidia is apparently going to support linux as much as win(at least thats what they say) Also read the readme but also compiler your drivers or they usally wont work

Yep, you guy are right. I should not judge it according the easyness of installation. I really feel pissed off by installing the latest NVIDIA driver 4191. Could you tell me which distribution of Linux and what kind of NVIDIA video card you are using? Thanks