What can you make?

I’m new to OpenGL and am very interested in it and I am just wondering what kind of stuff you can make. What I mean is, are alot of games made with opengl? What are most games made with? Thanks for the response, appriciate it.

ALOT, of things are made with it. In the games catagory, we got things like Quake2, Quake3, and a million others. You can make cad programs with it, modeller programs with it. Anything that requires graphics, 2D/3D whatever, you can do with it. And its OPEN platform, it will run, on Windows, linux, unix, mac, beos, dosnt matter. Lets see DirectX do that.

Originally posted by dabeav:
Lets see DirectX do that.

Well, if you want to attack Microsoft, you should talk about Direct3D, not DirectX…

Because, if you are really talking about DirectX, then OpenGL cannot deal with sound (DirectSound), user inputs (DirectInput), and a million things…

What I am trying to say is that the equivalent to OpenGL is Direct3D, not DirectX. I’d rather compare what can be compared…

Regards.

Eric

its OPEN platform, it will run, on Windows, linux, unix, mac, beos, dosnt matter. Lets see DirectX do that.

Mmm, but if you want to do more than just draw gouraud shaded triangles with simple textures, you’re going to have to use lots of hardware vendor dependent interfaces…whereas you won’t with direct3d, if a particular capability exists in the driver, then the interface to that capability is standard, no matter what your target hardware…let’s see opengl do that!

knackered,

I’m not of the mindset it will solve all problems with vendor-specific codepaths, but V2.0 (if approved & released) should go some way towards providing a more common interface, although at the minute I’m quite enjoying the challenge of programming for specific extensions and making it all take the correct route. I don’t guarentee my enthusiasm will last mind.

-Mezz

Originally posted by knackered: