Testing an OpenGL Driver

My company will be recieving an OpenGL driver for use in an embedded application (avionics) and I’m responsible for testing the thing when it arrives. Because it’s for avionics, it needs very through testing – “All aspects of OpenGL” is what my manager said. This is testing in addition to the qualification testing that is required to use the ‘OpenGL’ name.

Unfortunately, I’m new to OpenGL (3 months or so of doing tutorials and reading manuals) and testing a drivers seems like a very advanced topic to me.

Can anyone suggest somewhere to look for an idea of what should be in these tests? I’ll need to adapt them to work on our operating system, but I’m hoping someone can give me some idea of where to start.

Much thanks.

That’s a big topic, but the most obvious test that should be run on every OpenGL implementation is conform, i.e., the OpenGL conformance suite. I’m not sure if conform is publicly available. WHQL includes an old version of it for OGL 1.1, but that one will be missing all the 1.2 tests.

• Matt

Maybe glean can help you. Try search it in sourceforge.

I thought that Avionics applications use cutdown versions of OpenGL to make thorough testing and predictability possible. This would make the OpenGL name incompatible because of the conformance tests.

Just passing the conformance tests will not be enough for your purposes although it is the technical prerequisite for using the OpenGL name, you seem to understand this. You require a much more rigorous level of testing which does not exist AFAIK. Testing OpenGL to see that it draws the right thing when asked, does not guarantee that, for example, when you call glTexSubImage2D imediately after glDrawPixels it won’t simply crash (my contrived example).
There are infinite numbers of possible scenarios like this.

I don’t see how you can test this after the fact. It requires an engineering methodology in writing the driver in the first place.