Need Someone Else

I’m 14 years old. I started programming in 3rd grade with Pascal, eventually moved up to C/C++. In 7th grade I started working with my friend on on web-based MUD game at dusk.wesowin.org. This year, I’ve started working with OpenGL.

It may seem sad, but on weekends, i can spend over 12 hours straight coding, and when I’m not coding, I think about coding.

I would like to be involved in a real project, to make a 3D game preferably. About all I’ve done in that direction so far is get my OpenGL program to read a world file describing rooms made of quads and portals. However, I haven’t started the code to draw the rooms yet ( I just finished the portal stuff today, give me time). There is absolutely no one I know near me who I can talk to about this subject, at least no one my age or that I know of.

Would anyone like to join me and start work on something? How many people do we need? What are we going to make? It doesn’t have to be anything big, just a fun project to make a small game, maybe like GL Tron.

-Tilgovi

I forgot to mention, even if working directly with someone would be too difficult given distance and things, is there anyone who I could talk to often about questions or ideas? I am Tilgovi on AIM and 100767765 on ICQ.

-Tilgovi

Heh, sounds frighteningly like me.

• Matt

Me too; I’m 16, working on my own game engine (so far only designing the game). I design (on paper) the modules at school, then code at home (quite often into the night, until I realize what time it is). I too don’t have anyone around me either that is either up to my ability level or who cares…long lost brothers!? :slight_smile: Anyway, if you really want to hear about my project, I could (if you’ve seen Babylon 5 before, then you’ll know the premise)…at any rate, good luck on whatever you do.

I think most of us here are prolly like you . I know I am, but I’m 25.