Developement under Linux

Hi everybody !

At the ceBit I saw this Corel distribution running a FireGL under Linux. Impressive. I’m interesting in doing C++ and GL coding under Linux, but I’m not experienced at it.
QUESTIONS !!!
What distribiution would be suited for a GL coder ?
What compiler/IDE/Editor is good ?
What books ? Where to start ?

Thanks

What are you crazy???

C++? Ok, I can forgive you for the C++ part .

I myself was looking for a good way to develope for linux (C or C++ ), so I ran into a few things…

I don’t think distribution is that big a deal, I use RedHat, but I am sure Debian SUSE Mandrake VA, etc etc should work fine but I can only safely say Redhat for now…

For GUI programming I prefer GTK+ as a GUI toolkit because its C based and you can see how everything really works instead of guessing what C++ does with objects or using a preprocessor to get rid of the problems associated with C++, you can find more information about it here www.gtk.org and www.gnome.org, there is a gtk+ widget called gtkglarea which allows you to create a gl view in your application, under this platform most people use Make files, but there is a program called gIDE which is also used by many as an IDE. For Visual Programming AKA GUI building tools there is glade so you should check that out as a way to quickly build interfaces and save coding time.