101 Things to do in Vertex Shader :)

OK, I’m a newbie to Vertex Shaders, but I’m already amazed at what can be acheived in 128 instructions

I’ve looked through the Nvidia demos and source to get an idea of what can be done with them and started to think about my first attempt to write one. ideas…ideas…ideas… ah ha!

1. Billboarding. How does this sound -

Pass your quad on as normal but them apply the transpose of the model view matrix.

he presto ?

Ideas 2 to 101 TBD

Never really thought about that… Sounds cool though! Nice and simple and fast!!

I think it would be a most excellent idea to draw a list up that people can contribute too, of what cool fast things you can do with a vertex shader.

Nutty

Vertex programs cannot create vertices, only modify vertices that you send down. Thus, you can’t create a billboard out of a single normal.

pass your quad as normal means:

pass your quad like you normally do but then applie in the shader the transpose of the 3x3 ( or how ever ) to get it billboarded…

cant wait to see it running, pocketmoon

what i like with the vertexshader is to set up the perpixellighingdata in hw, and sending the data there in as normal like before… great, too

i would prefer a new glBegin statement for billboards… perhaps you know it

glBegin( GL_POINT_SPRITE_NV );
{
glPointSize( 10.f );
glVertex3f( 10, 10, 10 );
}
glEnd( );

if not, look at dx8… would be so great… textured “pixels” ( huge pixelquads in fact… perfect for billboards… particlesystems etc… simply great )

Well that would be nice but a generic solution would perhaps be, well, too generic

I’m trying to billboard tree,what else!, onto a terrain, where else

If you unrotate by the whole model view matrix you just end up with the trees rotating in all planes! If you turn upside down the trees follow you!!

So for a flat terrain (y is up) you would only need to unrotate about the y axis perhaps ??