Ext & VAR ?

hi all,

the original post is in unix forum. let’s see where it gonna be threated !!
i’m not an expert, nor an advanced opengl programmer. but i hope this will help me choose my way.

i use nvidia, and i wonder (i’ve seen it around) what are the difference btw these & which one is best ?
Vertex Array Range 1&2, Vertex Programm, and Compute Vertex Array.
i think that it’s var the best as many are using it, but it’s maybe because it’s the more easier…

what are the advantages ? what are the advantages to use texture extension too ?

at the end, opengl is transformed to openglext, isn’t it ?

thank you all for the friendly.

what are the difference btw these & which one is best ?
Vertex Array Range 1&2, Vertex Programm, and Compute Vertex Array.

VAR are for storing geometry (vertexes) in the video card memory, in order not to have to send them to the 3d card each time we use it. The difference between 1 and 2 is that the first version can give some (performance/graphic) problems when enabled while using classic VA. Huge performance improvement in most of the cases.

CAV are used to says to the graphic card: “This VA will not be altered, but will be used many time, so keep it in your cache”. Give some performanece improvement only for quite small arrays.

Vertex program are small asm-like program to make special effects. This has nothing in common with the previous extensions.

yeh thanks a lot !!

so VAR2 is best as VAR1 because it’s less problematic when using huge scenes (if i understood well).

So; if i have around 20000 faces for an object, i could use CVA to improve my scene, or is it limited to some maximum faces ? all my vertices are just static (i prefer).

more, i think it depends on your hardware. i have a geforce 2 mx with 32Mo DDR in AGP (well, in PCI for now). so if I have AGP, i could use these extensions to improve my renderer ?

i may be a little bit too much curious as it’s an advanced post as it’s seems…