HLSL vs Cg = The Poll

So the ARB want our input!

I’m no expert in HLSL/Cg so perhaps brighter minds would like to use this thread to cover the basic differences for me?

I notice that both have built-in noise functions Perhaps Ken Perlin is about to become a rich man with his standardised noise funtion (Siggraph 2002) being implemented in hardware!

Rob.

We have played around with both of them. In my opinion, the relevant differences are the following:

a) Passing uniform and variant data:
3dlabs HLSL passes all data by global variables, both uniform and variant data in the same way, using declarators to declare uniform and variant variables.
Cg passes all arguments as function parameters. Variant data is handled different from uniform data: Variant data is passed as structure you have to declare before. Somehow the Cg approach seems to be more “low-level”.

b) Standardization of build-in functions:
3dlabs HLSL yes, Cg no.
In Cg, build-in functions are part of the profile. Depending on the profile, different build-in functions are available. The idea of Cg profiles is to have different profiles for different hardware. So Cg profiles are somehow a new “driver layer” above OpenGL / Direct3D, exposing also different build-in functions to the shader program. For example, there are different texture lookup functions depending on the Cg profile you use. In practise this means that a Cg shader must be written for a particular profile to compile. Also if the hardware feature is the same, it is not guaranteed that different profiles provide this feature by the same function.
A 3dlabs HLSL shader source is always the same. Theoretically every 3dlabs HLSL shader also runs on every hardware / driver. But in practise it will happen that a shader fails to compile and run if it uses features which are not available on this hardware / driver.