FBO's and floating point

Hello,
I’m a longtime OpenGL developer, and I just started using FBO’s in my application framework.

I am having trouble creating a framebuffer object with a floating point texture attachment. I’m using an x1800 Mobility Radeon on my laptop, and C# with the Tao bindings.

Here’s what I use to create a dummy texture to attach to the framebuffer at Gl.GL_COLOR_ATTACHMENT0_EXT

Gl.glTexImage2D(Gl.GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, Gl.GL_RGBA_FLOAT16_ATI, Width, Height, 0, Gl.GL_RGBA, Gl.GL_FLOAT, dummyData);

The next line, which is

Gl.glGenerateMipmapEXT(Gl.GL_TEXTURE_2D);

fails, however. Cant I generate mipmaps automatically for this (as mentioned below, this works fine for all non-floating point formats)? If I comment this out, the FBO always returns

Gl.GL_FRAMEBUFFER_INCOMPLETE_ATTACHMENTS_EXT

However, ALL of the above code works PERFECTLY for non-floating point formats. What am I doing wrong? Please help.

Thanks in advance

ATI has currently no support for floating-point filtering or blending, therefore you can’t use mipmapped textures effectively. I guess the mipmap creation for such textures is simply not implemented (It should be :-/).

I’m using an x1800

[quote]ATI has currently no support for floating-point filtering or blending
[/QUOTE]Are you sure X1k series don’t support this?
Radeon X didn’t, but I thought Radeon X1 series support FLOAT16 filtering/blending. I remember there was something mentioned in description of “Toy shop” demo, that instead of using floating-point they used RGB10A2 to be more memory-efficient. That would suggest they could use FLOAT16 if they chose so.

above code works PERFECTLY for non-floating point formats
That excludes my suspicions about NPOT+mipmaps.

only blending is supported. you must do your own filtering in pixel shader.
But I am not realy sure if the blending is supported in OpenGL, it can be the same as antialiasing of floating point buffer and that is supported only in DX.