PDA

View Full Version : My Demo



Don't Disturb
04-23-2003, 01:09 AM
Hi all,
I've written a demo to show to prospective employers, and it would be very useful to me if you could test it for me and let me know of any bugs (it's been developed on a P3-733 with a GeForce 256).
It's at http://members.lycos.co.uk/mplatings/
Thanks.

knackered
04-23-2003, 01:13 AM
Some screenshots would be useful. Not everybody is willing to download, unzip, install etc. a demo without some idea as to whether it's worth it or not.

Don't Disturb
04-23-2003, 01:34 AM
Fair point. I'll upload some later.
Until then, hey - it's only 700k, and there isn't any mucking about with installers.
I can also reassure you that the demo is a lot prettier than the website.

[This message has been edited by Don't Disturb (edited 04-23-2003).]

Jan
04-23-2003, 02:08 AM
Not bad.
Or should i say, damned good? I just played it for one minute and i was surprised about the quality.
But i was a bit disappointed by the sound. The "vroom vroom" sounds were very childish and i got only mono-sound.

On my Athlon 1.3 GHZ with a Geforce 4200 it ran very well.

Jan.

sanjo
04-23-2003, 03:18 AM
looks nice, though the controls are a bit sluggish.

what have you used to make the track?

btw. i havent even noticed that the cars are sprites, until i had a look at the data folder http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif .

Don't Disturb
04-23-2003, 03:21 AM
Sorry for the poor sound quality, Jan http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif

The cars steer according to the friction between the tyres and the ground, so if it's too sluggish blame Coulomb http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

I made the track using a custom utility I knocked together. It tends to crash your computer if you don't treat it right, so I'm not planning to release it in the immediate future.

[This message has been edited by Don't Disturb (edited 04-23-2003).]

Ysaneya
04-23-2003, 03:47 AM
Looked very nice from what i saw, and i didn't saw much :)

It crashed after a few seconds, at the first street intersection. P4 2Ghz + Radeon 9700.

I'd suggest that you work a bit more on the menu. The game looks good, but the menu's a bit confusing IMO. The track selection, with these white? dots? was a bit weird.

Y.

CAD_Swede
04-23-2003, 03:49 AM
Originally posted by Don't Disturb:
Sorry for the poor sound quality, Jan http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif

The cars steer according to the friction between the tyres and the ground, so if it's too sluggish blame Coulomb http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

I made the track using a custom utility I knocked together. It tends to crash your computer if you don't treat it right, so I'm not planning to release it in the immediate future.

[This message has been edited by Don't Disturb (edited 04-23-2003).]

I'm glad I didn't read this BEFORE your demo froze my machine. ;-)

You might want to make sure that your potential employer whom you're showng the demo to isn't using an IBM 2x1000MHz PIII Xeon machine with a Radeon 9700 Pro and Catalyst 3.2 drivers in a Dual monitor set up. :-)

I'm SO glad I saved my code changes before trying the demo ;-)

It broke after one "half" lap on the figure 8 map and I think I might have gone the wrong way around the 8...Oh well. It looked fairly nice... However, the cars drive on the wrong side of the street ;-)

/CAD_Swede

Don't Disturb
04-23-2003, 04:32 AM
Uh-oh.
I'm noticing you both have Radeon 9700s, could that be the problem?
Sorry for crashing your computer, BTW.

CAD_Swede
04-23-2003, 05:27 AM
Originally posted by Don't Disturb:
Uh-oh.
I'm noticing you both have Radeon 9700s, could that be the problem?
Sorry for crashing your computer, BTW.

hehe, no problem. The freeze is identical to the freezes I get when I screw up some API or extensions call, so I've seen it before ;-0

The 9700 with the current drivers is fast but not very tolerant of stooopid bugs. Believe me, I've produced a fair share of them myself :-)

M/\dm/\n
04-23-2003, 06:25 AM
P4 1.7 + ATi Rage (w98se) even alt+control+del wont help http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif
I'll try that on TNT2 on PIII 1.0 (w98se).
If I wont write back, you owe me computer http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif

M/\dm/\n
04-23-2003, 06:32 AM
YOU OWE ME A COMP, THAT WAS BIGEST BLOW I HAVE EVER SEEN, JOKING http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif
On TNT2 no problems and fps are acceptable, nice work, but PC's with ATi cards crashes really bad, black (GLUT?) screen, w/o any kind of info + frozen PC.
I was happy to see McLaren there http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/wink.gif

Tom Nuydens
04-23-2003, 06:42 AM
Ran just fine (60-70 fps) on a Radeon 9000 here, albeit with unofficial beta drivers (6334, catalyst 3.3).

-- Tom

kieranatwork
04-23-2003, 06:52 AM
That's pretty solid stuff. Nice lighting & shadows. Good work.
So you're based in London?
You interested in other areas of realtime graphics apart from games? Such as simulation?
You prepared to re-locate within england?
(I'm not offering a job, but I know a man who might).

Don't Disturb
04-23-2003, 07:20 AM
Hmm, well I've posted a warning for people with 9700s on the site, I'll have to extend that to all ATI cards. Bummer.

kieran - Yeah, simulation is my main interest (I've got another demo of this (http://www.sys.uea.ac.uk/research/rwm/rwm1.htm) but it's a bit big to put on a website). I applied to a few companies who do that kind of thing, but I think they just saw 2/2.
I don't have anything keeping me in London so I'm happy to relocate.
Tell your man who might that I might be interested.

jwatte
04-23-2003, 11:12 AM
Madman,

If you're developing software, you owe it to yourself to get onto the Windows NT kernel. Win98 and WinME just aren't stable enough; especially given the horrible OpenGL leaks you get when crashing or Shift-F5-ing programs.

Win2k or WinXP; either is fine.

knackered
04-23-2003, 12:21 PM
Yeah madman, ain't you never heard of kazaa-lite?

Proton
04-23-2003, 08:03 PM
It ran at an average of 160fps on my computer Athlon XP 2000, GF4 Ti4200.

But there was no sound. I have a SB Live xGamer 5.1.

I agree that the shadows (stencil?) were very nice looking and the lighting also worked very well.

Roman Grigoriev
04-23-2003, 09:08 PM
So where is source code to see?
As I understand you've done lights using register combiners+vertex program or not?

Jane Liu
04-23-2003, 09:41 PM
... and it would be very useful to me if you could test it for me and let me know of any bugs

Hi, but why it says could not initialise..? when I try to run it?

rgpc
04-23-2003, 11:00 PM
Originally posted by Jane Liu:

Hi, but why it says could not initialise..? when I try to run it?

So much info to go on... http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif

Ran fine on my PC but no sound avg 100-120fps.

AMD 2400+XP, geforce 3 ti200, SB Live 5.1 Platinum

Don't Disturb
04-23-2003, 11:30 PM
Thanks for all the feedback.
Regarding sound, see the credits http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/wink.gif

> why it says could not initialise..?
I don't have access to the code at the moment, but IIRC it will give you that message if your graphics card doesn't support the secondary colour extension.

I've taken a very minimalist approach to extensions (it was my intention that the demo would work with any card made in the last few years), so the shadows are all calculated in software.
The lighting is done multipass - render the geometry to the depth buffer, render the lights in additive mode, render the geometry again in multiplicative mode, then render the light coronas in additive mode.

M/\dm/\n
04-24-2003, 01:24 AM
I checked this stuff at work & there is only w9x. When I'm writing programs at home I write them with .NET+WXPPRO. Anyway, if you have program, IT MUST RUN ON 9x TOO, not just one specific OS with specific build http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif
I'll accept your point of view only if it'll be accepted by EA, Microsoft, EIDOS just to mention few http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif
But actually diferent platforms are REAL pain in ass http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/frown.gif especially when you are trying to port code from NV to ATI GRRRRRRRRRRRR.......

Jan
04-24-2003, 08:53 AM
After i played a while the sound got better and better, but now my mouth aches.
However i could not find any solution to create 3D sound.

Jan.

JanHH
04-24-2003, 04:03 PM
ran fine on my computer (duron 900/gf2 mx 400). looks great. obviously you're better than me http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/wink.gif.

Jan

V-man
04-24-2003, 07:17 PM
That is one fine looking game.
I dont think it was slugish. The physics seemed right. The lighting look good for that situation.
I guess the objective is to collect those white circle things?

I too dont have any sound, but is there suppose to be any? I didnt see any sound files.

I have a Gf2 GTS, drivers 42.xx, about 33 FPS which is too low. Maybe v-sync is an issue.

dare
04-24-2003, 09:12 PM
It's real quite good. But one objection : when several car lights intersects, ground looks like overexposed film.
Obviously, no problems on GF's (mine is GF4 MX 440).
I have really good sound http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/wink.gif, when i open the window; maybe because i'm near the noisy street? http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif