What do drivers do actually?

While I have been using OpenGL for a few years, I don’t think I ever understand what drivers really do. Maybe I should post it in the beginner group…
Someone knows articles explain what drivers really do?
When people find a bug, the driver is often blamed. Why?

On a basic level, a driver takes instructions
from some application, and turn them into
actual control sequences for hardware. This
may include anything from data type
conversion (float->8bit for color components)
to major parts of the API (say, frustum or
backface culling, depending on hardware
capabilities).

Because each family of hardware works
differently (internally), each family of
drivers has different performance tradeoffs
and different ‘hot areas’ for bugs, so when
you see behaviour that works on 3 card
families but doesn’t on the 4th, chances are
the bug is in the driver.

It’s a mix between an interpreter, a compiler, and a glorified memcpy.

• Matt

Hello,
uhm… a driver isn’t a compiler, nor an intepreter, and it might do memcopy, but it isn’t that, eihter. the second poster was more right.

a driver is a layer of abstraction. in the same sense that you might have a chauffer to drive your car so you don’t need to know how to operate a vehicle but just give high level commands (e.g. “take me to the nearest pub”), a driver is part of the o/s that does stuff. =)

For instance… the exact code (at the instruction level, i mean) to draw a triangle is different on all graphics h/w, right? the opcodes to get a triangle happening on a GeForce is different than on a Voodoo…
BUT!!! you have a driver to translate the glBegin() yadda yadda into the opcodes specific for a given card. (Actually, it’s not QUITE that simple… the glBegin is part of an API which talks to a driver for the card, which talks to the card)

drivers are problematic for bugs because

1. they’re written by third parties, but