Computing Shear Value From Degrees For Matrix

I am shearing the Y value of vertices in a mesh along the Z axis. I am using glMultMatrixf to apply the shearing matrix which works great. (I sure wish there was a glShearf though so I could avoid this on the CPU ) :wink:

My question is this: I have an angle in degrees called theta. I want to know how to convert theta to the value of shear in the matrix required so the resulting geometry is sheared to theta degrees.

I tried cos(theta) with the appropriate conversion to/from radians but the geometry angle appears to be off by roughly 10 degrees after the shear.

Any pointers are much appreciated. Thanks!

a matrix for shear along the y-axis looks like

[cos(theta) 0 0]
[sin(theta) 1 0]
[ 0 0 1]

maybe you forgot the sinus?

another thought- maybe you’re using something like glOrtho(-1., 1., -1., 1., -1., 1.). if your window’s width is not equal to its height, you’ll get wrong angles.

I think you may have hit the nail on the head. I didn’t realize I needed the sin.

Do you happen to know where sin goes on a matrix shearing Y along Z axis?

Right now I have the following which is shearing the right way but only off by about 10 degrees:

| 1    0    0    0 |
|                  |
| 0    1    0    0 |
|                  |
| 0    cos  1    0 |
|                  |
| 0    0    0    1 |
|                  |

Thanks!

try this:

[1 0 0 0]
[0 cos 0 0]
[0 sin 1 0]
[0 0 0 1]

No change from my previous matrix. Still off by the same amount.

I’m curious about your other comment regarding the projection. What does the view projection have to do with this modelview matrix shearing the geometry?