How to get rid of client arrays

Huh,

there’s this very interesting thread about the new object model , where Michael Gold pondered about dropping client side array support in Longs Peak. As I understood it, at least mixing client arrays with buffered arrays will not work anymore.

Now, well, that is exactly what I did. I’ve got vertices, normals, texture coords in VBOs, but color arrays are on the client side.

I’m doing this, because I need to change the vertex colors dynamically and in realtime. A per-vertex-parameter (eg. a force or some other value that can be scaled to a color table) is visualized on the surface of the meshes.

These meshes are huge. Several million vertices. So I decided to leave the color arrays on the client side.

What would be the solution for this problem without client side color arrays?

Thanks a lot!

CatDog

I’m no expert, but couldn’t you use a VBO and use glMapBuffer to modify it directly?

Yes. That’ll likely be faster.

Originally posted by Lord crc:
I’m no expert, but couldn’t you use a VBO and use glMapBuffer to modify it directly?
This would be a tremendously difficult task. The colors are updated in random order over all meshes. It’s an asynchronous operation. When the next frame is rendered, I’m not waiting for the color calculation to finish. In fact, since the color update is not always a realtime operation, the arrays get updated from another thread that does all calculations and writes the colors to the arrays.

At the moment, this is not problem: randomly changing any color at any time is no problem.

With MapBuffer, I had to map and unmap the arrays thousands times per frame, since mapping does only work on the currently bound array (or am I wrong here?).

I still think, without client arrays, I would be forced to maintain my color arrays on the client side just as before. But on each frame, I needed to copy (BufferSubData) the whole stuff to the VBOs.