ARB_point_sprite - where do I start?

I am working on a particle system, and I want to use the ARB_point_sprite extension.

I have never done this before, not even using quads, so I am looking for some kind of example to help me along.

I use the GLEW library, and I would like to keep on doing that, since it works fine.

If no working example is avalible, is there anywhere to find info on using extensions in general. I am into the ide that OpenGL has to fetch functionpointers to make use of the extensions, but my knowledge on practical use stops there.

is it like so:

glEnable(SOME_FANCY_EXTENSION);

while(IMPRESSED)
RunSpetacularEffect();

glDisable(SOME_FANCY_EXTENSION);

???

http://oss.sgi.com/projects/ogl-sample/registry/ARB/point_sprite.txt

Try googling for some examples.

A very simple demo of GL_ARB_point_sprite can be found in the Mesa distro in progs/demos/spriteblast.c It’s based on an older demo by Mark Kilgard.

-Brian

do you need explanation of point sprite (I guess this is very easy, I only know NV_point_sprite but this is extremely easy to use), or of how to set up extensions, or of how to build a particle system in theory?

Jan

I will go for the mesa example for now. I have the particle system running, I just need to change the particles to a sprite instead of a GL_POINT.

Thanx for the help :slight_smile:

Don’t forget that even though all nvidia cards (from gf2 and on) support ARB_point_sprite , from the ATI cards, only the radeons better or equal to 9500 support it .

My guess is that nvidia have it implemented it in hardware (and initially exposed it with their nv_point_sprite extension) whereas ATI just implemented in its card that support floating point pixel shaders.