PDA

View Full Version : efficient DrawRangeElements dataset



Gorg
02-27-2002, 02:57 PM
So with drawRange elements, you need to pass a range into which the indices must fall in.

How are use suppose to create your dataset to do that?

If your datas are a bunch of separate models, then it would mean you would need to merge all your buffers and recreate all the indices.

But doesn't keeping you indices like they were and simply passing a pointer at the correct position in your large buffer for your vertices gives the same efficiency?

I guess I don't really understand how DRE can help the performance.

Lev
02-27-2002, 04:05 PM
http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/Forum3/HTML/005073.html

Gorg
02-27-2002, 04:45 PM
Thanks Lev. I had found this discussion, but after a few reading I did not think it was answering my question.

After reading it a few more times I think I believe I get it http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif. Thanks.