Lighting Question

Howdy… I’m wrasseling with one greased piggy of an OpenGL problem here…

Okay, maybe not, but I’ve been fighting with this since I started playing with the API many moons ago, so HELP ME!!! Hehe, sorry bout that.

Anyways, I have not been able to get lighting to work properly for myself, ever. Whats the secret?

So my problem is that - anything - but for this case, say just a simple cube… I can define a stationary lightsource, but as I rotate the object, only certain faces get lit. Say the lightsource is directly in front of the object, pointing along the z-axis… I only get specular flashes on maybe 3 faces as the cube rotates. I’ve defined normals, but they don’t really help any (unless I’m doing it wrong). Oh yeah, the same thing happens with ambient and diffuse lightsources as well. As the object rotates, the lighting seems to get “de-applied” to the face.

HELP ME!!!

Oh, while you’re at it, tell me why I can’t get textures to work either…

Thanks

Siwko

You REALLY need to define normals, and define them correctly. Normals are everything in lighting. Note that if you scale your model non-uniformly, you may have to re-scale and re-normalize your normals, too, as OGL doesn’t do it for you.

Yeah, if you don’t unify your normals, your graphics card will have to do it itself (according to that official ogl book)

And only if GL_NORMALIZE is enabled ( which slows down the things ) or GL_RESCALE_NORMAL_EXT ( part of GL_EXT_rescale_normal, a bit faster but is good only for uniformed constant scale ).

[This message has been edited by onyXMaster (edited 07-22-2000).]