Particle Systems

Hi,

I’m thinking of doing a final year project at University on particle systems for a VR world. I’d really like to hear from anyone who’s done any work on this so I can figure out whether it’s what I want to do or not.

The project would be used for simulation of rain, snow, fire etc but as it’s a 240 hr project; it will need to be quite deep including such physically mind-boggling stuff as simulated and approximated fluid dynamics.

I am a pretty accomplished OpenGL programmer capable of knocking up a crappy FPS in a few weeks. I got an A for Physics A level as well which I guess could come in handy.

Any help or thoughts much appreciated,

Stephen

Particle systems are actually really easy to code since all forces affect the particles linearly (spelling?), no rotational forces simplify stuff a lot. It’s pretty trivial to add wind and springs to get really cool results. Collision detection is also simple, and particels tends to look really good withsimple rendering methods like blended billboards. I don’t know about fluid dynamics though, as far as I know most simple fluid dynamics stuff uses some form of heightfields to fake shallow water, i.e no particles. I’m far from sure though. Doing the full Navier-Stokes equation in 3d might be a bit slow… So I’d say go for it, it’s fairly easy to get impressive esults fast.

I’m half way through my final year project on medical visualisation (engineering degree) and I chose to use OpenGL as my rendering API. I’d say go for it. I also knew OpenGL a little bit beforehand but I’ve learnt a lot.

Your project will allow you to put as much time as you want into creating a professional quality visualisation system. Because you’re doing something you enjoy you will work harder on it and the stuff you learn will help in your hobby as well. Also, from previous year’s theses at my university, visualisation projects score well since the results are so visually stunning.