Simple Per-Pixel Lighting Question?

Hello, I have been going over so great slides at the developers site at nvidia.com. I am learning how to use the nvparse tool to tweak the register combiners for perpixel lighting. I understand most if not all of the theory behind it but i am having a hard time understanding afew things.

1. How do you get the normals from the normal map? I plan on using the photoshop plugin to get my normal maps. I dont quite understand how you get a normal from each texel from the map?
  2. I am REALLY new to cube maps and just saw my first slide on them. How do you generate a cubemap? Is it just like a normal map but is a 3d texture?
    =======================================
    Thanks for reading. If you could help me out that would just make my day. Thanks again!
  • Lurking

Originally posted by Lurking:
[b]

1. How do you get the normals from the normal map? I plan on using the photoshop plugin to get my normal maps. I dont quite understand how you get a normal from each texel from the map?
    [/b]

The normal map stores the normals in it’s color components. If you have RGB 888, then you have 8 bit for x, then y, then z. This is just a texture so you load them, and you can use the reg combiners to compute output color with it. There is also ARB_texture_env_combine which lets you do the same thing the ARB way.

2. I am REALLY new to cube maps and just saw my first slide on them. How do you generate a cubemap? Is it just like a normal map but is a 3d texture?

Its just another texture, not necessarely a normal map. For example, You can use it for environment mapping too.

It’s not a 3D texture. It is more like 6 textures in one. There is a UP, DOWN, LEFT, RIGHT, FRONT, BACK and each is a 2D texture.

You generate them by loading.

glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_CUBE_MAP, textureID);
glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_CUBE_MAP_POSITIVE_X);
glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_CUBE_MAP_NEGATIVE_X);

glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_CUBE_MAP);