Texture swapping time hit

The general rule is to change the texture as little as possible, but why exactly is that? If I have a 32 MB card, with 16 MB devoted to textures (at least that is how the old Voodoo 2 did things) and my whole program uses 5 MB of textures, how much of a hit is it to swap textures? I assume they will all be loaded on the card which gets rid of a major bottleneck.

It’s because of the texture cache. If you use the same texture again for your next polygon most of it will be in the cache so it’ll lower the memory bandwidth a lot.

How big is a standard cache? If a texture is much larger than the cache, wouldn’t the performance be the same as swapping between two smaller textures that were stored on the card, since the large texture would pollute the cache, just like the two textures?

By pollute, I mean that the cache could not be used “as is”.

I have not seen any speed improvements from
sorting the textures and minimizing the binds. However, since I’m a newbie, I’m still wondering if I should sort or not. Have any of you actually measured a performance hit associated with texture swapping?

Have any of you actually measured a performance hit associated with texture swapping?

Recently I’ve done a little hack in my 3d engine:
Instead of binding the texture for each triangle, I store in a variable the last binded texture id, and use glBindTexture just if the new texture is different from it.

I know, very crappy, but I’ve passed from 90 fps to 130 fps, using my G400

funny, I did the same thing the other day.
Didn’t gain anything, not even 1 fps.
I find it hard to believe you jumped from 90 fps to 130 fps by just using this simple trick.

Originally posted by beavis:
I find it hard to believe you jumped from 90 fps to 130 fps by just using this simple trick.