multitexturing - per vertex alpha

hmm, so i’ve never worked with multitexturing before, and i want to texture a model with 4 different RGB textures. the alpha values for the vertices in the model are going to change every frame, so i’d rather not use RGBA textures and upload the new alpha channel constantly. instead, i was wondering if it would be possible to do something like this:

glTexEnv(…GL_MODULATE);
glBegin(…)

texture unit 0
glColor(… Alpha 0)
glTexCoord(…)

texture unit 1
glColor(… Alpha 1)
glTexCoord(…)

texture unit 2
glColor(… Alpha 2)
glTexCoord(…)

texture unit 3
glColor(… Alpha 3)
glTexCoord(…)

glVertex(…) // render the vertex

glEnd()

basically i was wondering if i could specify a different color/alpha pair to be modulated with each texture during the multitexturing stage?

if this isn’t possibly, does anyone have any other ideas as to how i could specify per vertex alpha values without first rendering the model into each texture’s alpha channel?

thanks!
-lost hope

with GL_EXT_tex_env_combine / GL_ARB_tex_env_combine
you can assign previous textures alpha (or a constant value) to the current texture.
with glTexEnvfv(GL_TEXTURE_ENV,GL_TEXTURE_ENV_COLOR,colors);
you can set the CONSTANT color for a COMBINE.

there is a lot of things you can do with this extension. without it, I wouldnt know how to get rid of the “A” in a RGBA texture.

oh and make sure you set texenvf for every texture stage. (in this case it would be GL_COMBINE)
this thing here:
http://www.ati.com/developer/sdk/rage128sdk/Multex/OGLMultex.html

shows the older EXT_tex_env_combine quite nice, the ARB version can do a bit more, and with other extensions like crossbar (or nv_combine4) you can jump around in the texture units.

http://oss.sgi.com/projects/ogl-sample/registry/ARB/texture_env_combine.txt
http://oss.sgi.com/projects/ogl-sample/registry/ARB/texture_env_crossbar.txt
http://oss.sgi.com/projects/ogl-sample/registry/NV/texture_env_combine4.txt