Ok, now we know how long we have been coders, but how about what we do for a living?

I myself am an aspiring game programer. But for a day job I work in a tech service shop routing calls. FACINATING I KNOW. Im just curious how many of us programmers are actualy making our worth with our programs?

isn’t there a forum for the ones who like polls ?

Julien

I work in a woodshop building die racks.

When I program, I add things to Spider3D.

>>isn’t there a forum for the ones who like polls ?<<

there was talk of adding some new forums a while ago (i dont think nothing came of it)

myself ive had at least 100 different jobs over the years (usually fruitpicking)
at the moment im been thinning apples since november (only 4 more days and thats finished + then ill be onto 40hour weeks, its gonna be like a holiday )

I write code for a living. Then I write code for enjoyment. Sad, really. At work, I write and design code that makes systems faster, more scalable, use less network bandwidth, and render better. At home, I write and design code that make systems faster, more scalable, and render better. For variety, I don’t need to worry about network bandwidth at home :slight_smile:

Originally posted by jwatte:
I write code for a living. Then I write code for enjoyment. Sad, really.

I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s like that

– Tom

Same as Tom and jwatte…

Just in case you’d like to know what kind of things I am coding:
http://www.mottmac.com/html/06/software.cfm

(yes I know it’s a shameless plug but I don’t expect any sale from posting that here!)

Regards.

Eric

[This message has been edited by Eric (edited 01-06-2003).]

I work for an Infrared Imaging software\hardware company (software developer).

We are big in Cement!
www.thermoteknix.com

i write code for a living:
games and other 3D-related apps in opengl.