Interpolating Rotation Keyframes

I’ve been working on the last section of the model editor that I have been working on for the last 5 months now, and have reached another thing that I can’t quite understand. I have added support for Keyframe animation and interpolationg the Positional data was easy, however the Rotational data seems to be a bit elusive. Every model that has keyframes defines them as Axis/Angle and I was hoping someone might have a simple function to calculate an interpolated frame from 2 Axis/Angle Keys.

Sorry, no simple function exists. I would suggest doing what you already know I’m about to say: turn those Ang/Axis rotations into Quaternions and SLERP them.

You can also linearly interpolate the axis and then linearly interpolate the angle. It works ok visually except for a possible singularity when the axis is (0,0,0). Of course with quaternions you don’t have that kind of problem. I was working on a 3DS loader a while ago and I had to work on the rotation key frames and it turned out that SLERPing these rotations didn’t give the same result (visually speaking) as 3DS MAX but interpolating separately the axis / angle did.

I have downloaded the Quaternion.ps document and realized it was well over my head(mathematically speaking). I do wish to achieve a 3dsMax quality of interpolating as the original models were made in Max. I tried linearly interpolating the Axis/Angle and while this works well for the Angle, perhaps you could give me a hint as to how to properly linearly interpolate the Axis.