how to read 16bit targa files?

I want to use 16 bit targa files(5bit R,G,B 1bit alpha) for some reason. Is there any way of doing this? or am I totally wrong about it? cause I am actually a beginner in opengl.

Originally posted by urban debugger:
[…] cause I am actually a beginner in opengl.

so why do you posting your frequently asked question in an advanced forum ?

Originally posted by AdrianD:

I don’t know if the topic is advanced or not? I thought it was but if it was not proper to post here, i’m sorry about it.

What is the problem really? Is it to actually read the file from disk, or do you have problem uploading the image data as a texture?

the problem is about loading data as a texture in “16 bit” format?

But what part of the texture loading are you talking about? Can you load the image from file, but you can’t upload it as a texture? Or don’t you even know how to get the image from the file?

Originally posted by urban debugger:
[b] [quote]Originally posted by AdrianD:

I don’t know if the topic is advanced or not? I thought it was but if it was not proper to post here, i’m sorry about it.

[/b][/QUOTE]

Then why don’t you search for “targa” in the beginner and advanced forums. I got 22 hits in beginner and 18 in advanced and image loading code in about 5 minuntes.

i have no difficulties in handling targas which are 24 or 32bits. i can open and make display them as a texture but, i cant upload 16bit targas as textures.

(There are 5bits for each R,G,B and 1bit for alpha channel…)

If you can get 24 or 32 bit to work, why don’t you just use 24 or 32 bit textures instead of 16 bit, load them into memory, downshift/scale the color/alpha bits to 16bits, and create a 16 bit texture? I’m assuming your goal is to use 16 bit textures? This point is not very clear in your original question.