pixel shaders on nVIDIA hardware

I’m relatively new to OpenGL programming, and most of my experience has come from DirectX. In DirectX building a pixel shader is pretty simple to setup. I can’t seem to figure out how to get a pixel shader up and running in OpenGL. It’s okay for it to be nVIDIA specific (GF3, GF4 only).

I can’t figure out how to get my pixel shader assembly read in, it looks like nvparse () uses a proprietary language for accomplishing the same thing. Is there an equivilent to the ps.1.1 language that I’m used to in DX for OGL, or should I try to port it over to the nVIDIA “texture shader” language?

Thanks for help guys

The Direct3D pixel shader programs you used before cannot be directly used in OpenGL. You will need to use a combination of the following nVidia extensions to do the same thing:

NV_register_combiner, NV_registe_combiner_2
NV_texture_shader, shader2, and if you use a GeForce 4, shader3.

You will have to convert your shaders to use these API’s rather than a simple string.

Okay, I’m reading through all the docs on nVIDIA’s website trying to figure out how the texture shader stuff works. Is there anywhere that simple examples are available? All that I can find out there are really complex examples, where I just need something simple enough to tell me how to get something up and running.

Also, do texture shaders have access to interpolated vertex data like pixel shaders in DirectX (ie v0, v1)? All that I can find literature on talks about interpolated texture coordinates.

Again, thanks!

nvparse is like a scripting language, so if your use to that kind of coed, then you should try to get that up and running.

I pretty much like sticking close to the API as much as possible.
You have the option of being nvidia specific with the extensions mentioned above, but then there is GL_ARB_texure_env_combine which is a generic interface. Not as powerful however…