PDA

View Full Version : x800 floating point blending



Sandruzzo
07-04-2004, 11:39 PM
hi!

i've a simple question,does x800 support floating point blending like nvidia 6800?

thanks in advance
sandro

Korval
07-05-2004, 01:39 AM
Almost certainly not.



You see, that would have required actual work and effort on the part of ATi. They decided not to do any actual work with the x800, and just re-released the 9500+ line with more vertex and fragment pipes.

Oh, and 3Dc. Let's not forget that :rolleyes:



If you want features, get a 6xxx FX card.

Zeross
07-05-2004, 01:52 AM
No it doesn't support floating point blending, as Korval said 6800 is offering this feature and I think that 3DLabs with its Wildcat Realizm series can also do FP16 blending.

^Fishman
07-05-2004, 10:35 AM
Originally posted by Korval:
If you want features, get a 6xxx FX card.And if you get a 6xxx FX card, don't forget to get a nuclear reactor to power it.

JackM
07-05-2004, 11:03 AM
And if you get a 6xxx FX card, don't forget to get a nuclear reactor to power it. Running it on 300W Antec. GT version, but for development purposes, 10% difference in clock speeds won't make any difference.

Power supply "requirement" is a simply precautionary step by Nvidia, in order to avoid lawsuits when Generic 400W PS with 10VA on 12V rail purchased from CompUSA blows up :)


and just re-released the 9500+ line with more vertex and fragment pipesActually, it's more of the quad version of 9600 series (w/higher instruction count to qualify for another useless update - DX 9b)

yooyo
07-06-2004, 04:41 AM
Originally posted by ^Fishman:

Originally posted by Korval:
If you want features, get a 6xxx FX card.And if you get a 6xxx FX card, don't forget to get a nuclear reactor to power it.Don't be funny.. NV40 offers MUCH more new features than X800. What about changing AT to ATX power supply few years ago? Is this was problem? I don't think so...

yooyo

crystall
07-07-2004, 07:47 AM
Originally posted by Zeross:
No it doesn't support floating point blending, as Korval said 6800 is offering this feature and I think that 3DLabs with its Wildcat Realizm series can also do FP16 blending.The WR can do more than FP blending, in fact it can directly show 16-bit per channel FP frame buffers.

Obli
07-08-2004, 12:40 AM
I'm disappointed by the X800. I would have loved to drop all this ping-pong rendering thing.
By the way, I like NV4x and HDR blending but I still won't buy them in the short run.
Too bad 3dlabs chips are not mass-marketed.
Looks like HDR blending won't be for the masses for a long time. Sigh.