Fragment/vertex program HW/SW support

Hi!

I’m looking for a somewhat complete summary (e.g. a table) of which kind of vertex/fragment program extensions (NV_, ATI_, ARB_*, GLSL, etc) are supported on which cards (NVIDIA, ATI, Intel, etc). I’m interested in all generations here (back to GeForce1/2/4MX - i believe most of them do at least vertex programs on the CPU).

Does anybody know about such a summary or any other pointers to where I can collect this kind of information?

I’m sure you can easily get the data from here:

http://www.delphi3d.net/hardware/index.php

view by either by card or extension.

Or glView by RealtechVR…

http://www.realtech-vr.com/glview/

Thanks! Not really what I was looking for though (I knew about those). Wanted to know about HW vs. SW rendering too…

Anyway. I’m quite new to GPU programming (I’ve got the vague theory, but I have not done anuthing in practice). Three things:

1. What is the GeForce 3/4 fragment shader option (neither NV_fragment_program nor ARB_fragment_program are supported)??

2. Can I live with ARB_fragment/vertex_program alone, or do I need ARB_fragment/vertex_shader too?

3. GeForce 4 supports both ARB_vertex_program and ARB_vertex_shader. Are those implemented in HW or SW?

I’m not really sure geforce 1/2 support shaders. They are T&L that’s all what I know about them.

For shader support, I guess GLSL should be best for all OpenGL based cards.

Vertex/fragment programs are the ‘assembly’ version of the shaders whereas vertex/fragment shaders are the ‘C’ version. A card that supports shaders also supports programs. I think the reverse is not true.

Hope that helps.

1. What is the GeForce 3/4 fragment shader option (neither NV_fragment_program nor ARB_fragment_program are supported)??
    A combination of the NV_register_combiner and NV_texture_shader extensions. These are useful (you can get bumpmapping and a few other effects out of them), but not terribly much so.