PDA

View Full Version : Do the graphics cards support hardware overlay planes?



vFunct
10-20-2004, 09:56 AM
If so, can they support unlimted number of overlay planes? What bit depths?

I am developing under Mobility Radeon 9600, Radeon 9700, & Nvidia 6800.

Relic
10-20-2004, 10:03 PM
No implementation supports an "unlimited" number of overlay planes. :)
None of the above boards offers overlay planes, you'd need a workstation graphics board to get one.
If you want to draw something above a main plane which should remain intact, have a look at the WGL_ARB_buffer_region extension.
It allows to quickly save and restore the color and depth buffers and should work on all of the above boards.

yooyo
10-20-2004, 11:59 PM
Gamers cards usually don't support overlay planes in OpenGL. I was do some overlay tests on Quadro cards and it works. Also, using some old driver set (I think detonator 2x.xx series) and RivaTuner nvstrap patch I succesufully turn GeForce3 to Quadro card and voila.. overlays work! But... with newer driver releases I was not able to get overlays when I try to turn gamer card to Quadro.

yooyo

N64Marin
10-27-2004, 03:26 PM
You can also use RivaTuner to patch the nv4_mini.dll to use new drivers while modifying Geforces to Quadros