Do you feel lucky to be in the age of computers?

Inane and off-opengl-topic thread, maybe, but I just got an overwhelming feeling of how lucky I was to be able to program a computer. We (as programmers) have opportunities that mathematicians and engineers stretching back centuaries would have killed for. I’ve been playing with ODE (Open Dynamics Engine) recently, and I’m constantly in awe of the complex behaviour simple rules can produce…

…and no, I haven’t been on a drugs binge…

I feel very honored to have been born in this era. C++ was even just a baby when I started programming…makes you feel all mushy inside .

I’ve thought this too…we are in a sort of golden age of computer graphics.

The real-time visuals we can get now are pretty damn good and the progress is still really fast, which makes it a very exciting time to be in this field.

– Zeno

Originally posted by Zeno:
I’ve thought this too…we are in a sort of golden age of computer graphics.

I don’t think so.
Sometimes I wish I would be born 100 years ahead from now :stuck_out_tongue:
That’s the discrete (math. sense) nature of computing that bothers me.

Julien.

100 years!?

I dont think we’ll even need graphics coders anymore in 100 years. Few more years down the line, and we’re gonna approach ray-traced quality one way or another. After that everything will just be done for you.

I think now, is the best time to be a graphics coder.

>>I dont think we’ll even need graphics coders anymore in 100 years<<

true, there is gonna be a limit reached ( i think about in 20 years time) where real time graphics are gonna be pretty close to ‘visualy perfect’ (then what are we gonna do? improve on perfection

‘visualy perfect’ defined as where improving the quality/performance doesnt have any human visual imporovements

eg take a 17inch monitor, have a 10000x10000 pixels on it does 1000000x1000000 look better to the viewer, it maybe measurably better but for joe blow both images look alike.