Implementing a "palette" using pixel shader?

Hi there,

Is it possible to implement “palettes” for rendering a greyscale image in with any set of colours you want using pixel shaders?

I have a texture map that basically consists of luminosity data and I want to define various user-selectable palettes to view the dataset with. I figured if I just were able to upload a palette texture, upload the luminosity data and fire off a pixel shader program, I might be able to do this. But how? I’m new to pixel shaders.

Any hints would be much appreciated.

You can simply use a dependent texture read. You read the “luminosity” texture and use that value to index a 1-D (usually) palette texture. Something like:

!!ARBfp1.0

TEMP indexSample;

OUTPUT out = result.color;

TEX indexSample, fragment.texcoord[0], texture[0], 2D;
TEX out, indexSample, texture[1], 1D;

Assuming luminosity is bound to texunit0 and palette to texunit1, and texcoords are coming from texcoord0.

The thing to be careful about is texture filtering. For palettized textures, you want the texture to be filtered after the index lookup, not before, which is what this example does. This might be ok, depending on how you use your texture.

-Won

Ok, but I’m having trouble understanding how dependant texture reads work - I mean I thought you just had access to the currently interpolated texels for the currently bound textures - if I can do a [] read from another texture unit, I guess I’m in luck. Thanks for the tip.

Note that the fragment program decouples texture units from texture coordinates. The TEX instruction forces you to specify the output register, the texture coordinate (which can be computed rather than passed in), and the indexing type. The filtering parameters are still set externally.