PDA

View Full Version : Quake III Source



nukem
11-30-2002, 10:16 PM
I downloaded the Quake III source and I looked threw it to find were there MD3 loading code is and I cannt find it. Does anyone know were it is?

Thanks,
Nuke

Bob
12-01-2002, 12:45 AM
It's probably in the engine code, which is far from being released to the public. What you got is the game code, not the engine code.

alexsok
12-01-2002, 03:15 AM
Right. It's only game code. If you want the engine code, you should download the Quake or the recently (relatively speaking) released Quake 2 full source code which includes everything you need.

[This message has been edited by alexsok (edited 12-01-2002).]

DopeFish
12-01-2002, 04:32 AM
However both of those lack MD3 loading and rendering, which is what he is after.

SirKnight
12-01-2002, 06:11 AM
You don't need the quake 3 source to figure out the md3 format. There are TONS of tutorials/code samples on the net for this. One place that comes to mind is http://www.gametutorials.com

Enjoy! http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif

-SirKnight

nukem
12-01-2002, 10:10 AM
heh thanks. I used the tutorial from gametutorials.com but when I used it in my engine it didnt work.

Pentagram
12-01-2002, 10:21 AM
Get the tools source http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif, It loads almost all the q3 files.
(even big/little save code)

Charles

nukem
12-01-2002, 10:25 AM
ok thanks ill try that