ps and vs on Geforce 2

First off, Im a newbie when it comes to ps and vs (or lets call it fp and vp).

There is zero support in the hardware when it comes to these on Geforce2 GPUs?

vp programs get proccessed on the CPU and you get reasonable FPS. But fp requires hardware support or else you get under 1FPS.

Another thing, why 1 FPS? Is the image getting generated in RAM and being uploaded via the CPU or the CPU renders to AGP memory and the card picks it up when it gets a swapbuffer call?

Unfortunatly I havent got the time to go through all the pages about fp & vp.

V-man

I’m not even sure you’ll always get “decent” performance with vertex programs. I have never tested it, but my guess is, if you store your vertices in video memory with VAR, and if the CPU needs to process them with a software vertex program, it will have to read from video memory, hence killing your framerate.

As for pixel shaders, well there’s limited support for them on the GF2. Actually, pixel shaders is a separated in fragment programs and register combiners. The first one is used to sample the texture maps (and do dependant texture reads). It’s not available on the GF2. However, the second one (register combiners), though more limited than the GF3/GF4, is still usable at reasonnable speeds. You can implement per-pixel lighting, dot3 bumpmapping and this sort of stuff with them.

Why 1 FPS ? I’d say because each time you’re drawing a pixel you need to execute the instructions of the pixel shader, probably on top of a virtual machine. It might as well take thousand of clocks just to draw one pixel. I’m not even sure it has anything to do with transfers of the final image to the video card…

Y.

guesses
*fp are not optimized as vp cause even if they were performance would still suck (so why bother!)
*how many pixels are there on a screen 480x640 = 300,000 (though not all are covered) say 100,000 try sticking 100,000 vertices on screen with vp + see your performance