Advanced feature portability

In my spare time I’m an open source game developer. I try to write code that is as portable as possible. My last game was developed under Linux and ported to Windows, OSX, and FreeBSD.

My current project is a little more ambitious than the last one, and I’ve been struggling with the question of what features of OpenGL I should or should not use.

I would love to use VBOs and ARB vertex programs, but to do so would seriously undermine the portability of my code. It would cut my potential audience to a fraction. As I’m sure everyone is aware, driver quality varies wildly from hardware to hardware and OS to OS. Only by sticking with widely available GL features have I been able to produce code that is both clean and portable.

I’m sure the answer that pops immediately into most heads is multiple code paths. That’s fine for a commercial product where it is worth the extra effort in order to squeeze every available dollar out of the market. But this is free code, and I’m just one programmer.

And it’s the open source user community I’m targeting. They often have old hardware and they expect it to work. Anyone who cares about 3D enough to spend money on hardware is probably also willing to spend money on a game, and will simply overlook open code as being amateur.

My current thinking is: if an extension has EXT or ARB in the name, then it’s fair game. If a user doesn’t have the hardware for it, he’s SOL. In the opinion of this forum, where is the line? At what point do you cut potential users off?

You can ‘emulate’ a lot of the more useful extensions. Short example (Win32 specific):

void APIENTRY
replacement_glDrawRangeElements(GLenum mode,GLuint start,GLuint end,
GLsizei count,GLenum type,const GLvoid *indices)
{
glDrawElements(mode,count,type,indices);
}

<…>

bool
grab_extensions()
{
<…>
if (is_supported(“GL_EXT_draw_range_elements”)&&
GL_FP_GRAB(glDrawRangeElementsEXT))
{
// gl_caps.dre=true; //transparently emulated
}
else
{