"Salvation" - Visual OpenGL design

Just wanted to let people know about a project I’ve been working on for a few years now. The central idea is to redefine graphics programming and turn it into a visual, interactive, realtime activity.

Graphics animations are created not by endless lines of code, but by visual “scene graphs” that represent the drawing processes.

Here is a screenshot showing the recently incorporated ARB_fragment_program compiler:
http://www.treyharrison.com/tshader.jpg

Being realtime and interactive, “Salvation” has primarily caught the interest of video artists and “vjs”, but I think game developers and other developers in general may have various uses for it… to quickly construct previews / demos of their graphics content, to assist with development of vertex and pixel shaders, and perhaps more in the future.

Those with an interest in the technology (beta testers, critics, people with suggestions, etc) are encouraged to contact me at trey@u.washington.edu or to reply here on the Opengl forum.

thanks for listening.

trey
ps. some preliminary designs created with “Salvation”:
http://www.treyharrison.com/loops http://www.zygotia.com/videos.html

Impressive.

[This message has been edited by ^Fishman (edited 09-06-2003).]

I can’t think of one content artist I know who would be able to understand 1% of those images…
Nice idea in theory, but in practice you’re just replacing coding-by-keyboard with coding-by-mouse…either way, you have to be a coder to do it.

Originally posted by knackered:
I can’t think of one content artist I know who would be able to understand 1% of those images…
Nice idea in theory, but in practice you’re just replacing coding-by-keyboard with coding-by-mouse…either way, you have to be a coder to do it.