Irritated with Nvidia Demos

I’m sure others are guilty as well, but right now I’m frustrated with the lack of organization in an Nvidia bump mapping demo.

All the code is written pretty well in C and it’s easy to understand. But all the code is in ONE 3000 line file. Everything from matrix operations to loading tgas is in ONE big file. I already know how to add matrices. I don’t need to see that code. What I would really like to see is all the bump mapping code in one small file. And all that other crap in separate files.

Maybe I am just not an uber programmer yet. But I thought having everything (including the kitchen sink) in one file was bad programming–especially for a demo meant to teach. What do you all of you think about this?

I think you’re right. The demos, quite frankly, are horrible. Sure they work but my god they make my eyes bleed just looking at it. Now since I have been studying their demos for quite a long time now, I can get through them better than before but they still could be better, much better. Also more comments would help too. I think one of the problems is that they rely too much on all of their libraries (which are not fun to read or look at either). Also like you say, everything gets jammed into one huge arse file. Now I’m not trying to say anything bad about the programmers, but I do feel that nvidia should make a better effort to make the demos nicer to read and understand.

-SirKnight

I think your right. I dont speak for everyone else, but I think the general concensus is that many of the Nvidia demos are ill organized. Its frustrating at first to make sense of the code. What I like to do is go through and delete everything that is of no relevance to what a particular demo is trying to demonstrate. Helps allot.

Old GLman

Oh also, more meaningful identifiers would help a lot. I have also noticed that sometimes the way some things are done are a waste and a bit redundant. Kind of like this:

void do_something( void )
{
blah blah