custom projections

I need to calculate a projection matrix for a custom(non-frustum,non-ortho) viewing volume.What I have are the coords of the four verts of the near and far planes,sahred by the other planes of course.Do you have any pointers to info on calculting a projection matrix from this?

PS:Yes this is for a university assignment but the ‘notes’ on how to do it don’t make much sense,and I can’t find anything on google.Well unless someone answers quickly it’ll propably be too late anyway but I’m curious anyway.

[This message has been edited by zen (edited 12-10-2002).]

See documentation on glFrustum

Hope I’m on time

Dan

You are but doesn’t glFrustum create a frustum viewing volume.I need a random volume.Well not random but defined by:
near plane:
lower left corner (-50,-50,50)
upper right corner(50,50,50)
far plane:
lower left corner (-50,0,-50)
upper right corner(50,100,-50)

I’m not an expert with matrices but maybe I can give some hints.

I think you want to have a skew matrix.
I have done this on my modelview matrix.

The idea (IIRC), is that the upper left 3x3 matrix in the frustum represents a set of vectors that define 3 dimensional space.

[v1x][v2x][v3x]
[v1x][v2y][v3y]
[v1x][v2z][v3z]

If any pair of those vectors are not orthogonal to each other, the result is called a skew matrix. To have a skew in the y + direction for example, you have to change one those vectors (I think vector 2).

Also, you may need to combine with a translation… but you’ll figure it out.

V-man

Well if you connect the dots you’ll see that I need a skewed cube.So I got the matrix produced by glOrtho(-50,50,-50,50,-50,50) and muptilied it by a 0.5 yz shearing matrix and got what he wanted.But I didn’t get it the way he wanted…yeah right,well I got it isn’t that what counts?

If you need to do it by hand, instead of using GL functions, read the GL spec to find the formulas it uses to calculate the projection matrices.