using Register Combiners for DotProduct Bump Mapping...

hi
I’m relatively new to OpenGL and I want to master my knowledge in most advanced issues, so I decide to emphasize on Bump Mapping as a technique that greatly improves visual appearance of a textured(skinned) mesh, I’ve read NeHe’s Tutorial #22, and I found that Emboss Bump Mappping really is “a hack” or “a fake”, and also the visual and performance results are not good. Then I read some papers about this issue and I learn that DotProduct Bump Mapping maybe is the best method to apply to my project/demo(except Environment Embossed Bump Mapping, but I think it’s to advanced despite I haven’t see inplementation and/or code in OpenGL).
I need an advise: is it good to emphasize and learn nVidia’s Register Combiners Technlogy in turn to implement DotProduct Bump Mapping or ATi’s analogical technology? I realize that in that cases I’ll loose some hardware independance, but these cards(nVidia and ATi) are most commonly on the market today.
And last, would you recommend me an some book, including theory about that subject?

thanx

Before jumping on either register combiners or fragment shaders you might want to take a look at GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3. It’s enough for basic bumpmapping and is widely supported.

Hi there! You DON’T need a book to do suck a basic thing. EVERYTHING you need is in nVidia site, download all the papers and demos about it and also check the nVidia OpenGL SDK(if you use OpenGL, off course) or check DirectX SDK(if you use D3D). What is your graphics card ? If you use a GeForce3+ it is a lot easier to implement because you can normalize vectors in the register combiners, if your graphics card isn’t a GeForce3+ than you will need to use a cube map for normalization. All of this theory is in nVidia papers.

Go read them and then come back here if you have doubts.

Bye

here is a tutorial (better a code demo) about card independent dot3 bump mapping using ARB extension: