Hardware T&L Tutorials/Suggestions/Code

I am just beginning in OpenGL so understand that even though this question is somewhat above my head currently, that is where I want to get to as quicly as possible. Any help would be great. Thanks.

-Crow

E-Mail: crows_home@bigfoot.com

As I understand it HW T&L is automatic, so long as you let OpenGL do the transformations.

i.e.

Use the LoadMatrix, MultMatrix etc fuctions and don’t do any transformations yourself.

Actually to my knowledge, hardware T&L is not a feature that automatically works whenever able as you must set it to use the T&L driver. I have multiple applications that do not use my T&L driver for OpenGL and yet are OpenGL applications. If I am wrong please correct me.

-Crow

If HW T&L is supported by your driver, you will get HW T&L, and there is nothing you have to do to enable it. But you have to use proper dataformats to be able to USE the HW T&L. For example, you must pass vertices a floats, not doubles or integers (on a GeForce at least), otherwise you fall back on software transformation.

And by the way, how do you know your applications doesn’t use the HW T&L feature?

No, there is no specific data format required for T&L. T&L is totally automatic. Some formats may waste performance because we’ll do conversions, but T&L will occur in HW no matter what format you use.

• Matt

Oh really? Now thats great

The thing is, I think I read it at yer developer site, but maybe I either interpretated it wrong, or maybe it was something else I was thinking about. So I’m sorry for my first post about dataformats.

Oh well, learning new things every day…

Mind if I ask then why when I run an application in OpenGL and also again in DirectX that niether of them uses my T&L. It is obvious because I have run T&L projects before and it has worked.
What about that?

-Thanks,
Crow

In Direct3D, you have to use the HT&L HAL
instead of the “regular” HAL to get HT&L.

In OpenGL, you will get hardware assist if